You Are What You Read

Posted: July 15, 2011 in General
Tags: , , , ,

In Ask the Right Questions when Researching Sports Jobs, my tenth question was about whether any sports business professionals had published books on an aspect of the industry you want to learn more about. Besides talking to someone who works in a particular part of the sports business that you are interested in, the next best thing to do is to read about the experiences of an expert, whether it is an autobiography or simply their perspective on a particular sports business topic.

That being said, one of my favorite things to do to prepare for a job in sports is to read books for fun. It’s a nice side hobby of mine where I can get away from the hustle and bustle of college life and pick up some practical knowledge. The types of book I like to read are primarily sports related, but I also enjoy self-help books.

In my sophomore year at Georgetown, I began reading these two different types books in order to learn from the best in the business and put myself at an advantage. I have not looked back since.

Please check out my newest Recommended Books blog page where I have compiled all of the books I have read in the past couple of years that I believe have prepared me and will hopefully prepare you for the sports industry.

Let me hear your suggestions on books you would recommend for people looking to break into sports!

Leave a Reply

